The Lone Star Energy Forum showcases technology, innovation and leadership

THE WOODS The Texas Oil & Gas Association’s Lone Star Energy Forum in The Woodlands showcased innovation and state, national and global leadership in the Texas oil and natural gas industry.

“Modern oil and gas companies are actually technology companies and their innovations are changing the world. The industry’s commitment to innovation and investment remains critical to making Texas, our nation and the entire world cleaner, stronger and better,” said TXOGA President Todd Staples in a press release.

Staples continued, “The EIA projects that global energy demand will increase by approximately 40% by 2050, and the world understands what this industry knows: energy security is a necessity, not a luxury. Limiting or rationing energy sources cripples economies, limits choice and stunts growth. Allies abroad facing energy shortages are on our doorstep in Texas asking us to work with them to meet their energy needs and help them move forward. However, as we heard from experts at our forum, policies and guidelines in Texas and across our country will determine whether we can continue to be that trusted energy ally or whether nations in need need to look elsewhere.”

This year’s forum kicked off with the TXOGA Energy Elevated Technology Showcase, where attendees heard from Jason Schenker, Chair of the Futurist Institute and President of Prestige Economics, and Dale Winger, CEO of Halliburton Labs, and discussed the latest innovations from AirDrive Oil and Gas, BioSqueeze, GHGSat, Power Infrastructure Partners, Stranded Solutions and WilliamsRDM. The showcase showcased innovations related to well electrification, advances in remediation technology, and emission detection and reduction technologies. The showcase can be viewed here.

The forum continued with the presentation of TXOGA’s 87th Distinguished Service Award to Don Evans, former United States Secretary of Commerce, and Jay Pryor, former Vice President of Business Development at Chevron.

“The Distinguished Service Award is one of the oldest and most prestigious awards bestowed on members of our industry,” Trevor Rees-Jones, chairman of Chief Oil and Gas and chair of the Distinguished Service Awards Committee, said in the press release. “Since 1936, the award has been chosen by industry leaders to recognize their peers for their outstanding contributions to the oil and gas industry and the nation. We are proud to add to those ranks Foreign Secretary Evans and Jay Pryor.”

During the Energy Forum, attendees enjoyed fireside chats with Halliburton President and CEO Jeff Miller and Kinder Morgan CEO Steve Kean, and heard from speakers such as Phillips 66 President and CEO Mark Lashier, President of US Oil & Gas Association, Tim Stewart, and Founder and CEO of Quantum Energy Partners Wil VanLoh.

A panel focused on carbon initiatives included Greg Mathews, senior counsel for Chevron, and Kim Krieger, BPX Energy’s chief operating officer of production. A legislative body consisted of Texas State Senator Brandon Creighton and Texas State Representative Greg Bonnen.

Geopolitical analyst and author Peter Zeihan closed the forum with a keynote address at lunchtime.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *